Viṣhṇu (Sattva guna of Adi Shakti) – Preserver, Protector, Supreme Being, part of Trimurti, Para Brahma, Parama purusha, Srinivasa, Govinda, Deva, Narayana, Hari, Krishna, Rama, Suryanarayana, Gopala, Govinda and many names as in Vishnusahasranama


Goddess Lakshmi is consort of God Vishnu.

Abode: Vaikuntham, Ksheera Sagara, Vrindavan


  • Om Vishnave Namaha
  • Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya
  • Om Namo Narayanaya
  • Hari Om Hari Om
  • Hare Krishna Hare Krishna Krishna Krishna Hare Hare
    Hare Rama Hare Rama Rama Rama Hare Hare
  • Om Namo Venkatesaya Namaha

Vishnusahasranama 1008 names of Vishnu version origins Mahabharata where Bhishma recites the names before Krishna on the battlefield of Kurukshetra, praising Vishnu as the supreme god. These sahasranama are regarded as the essence of all Vedas by followers of Vaishnavism, who believe sincere chanting of Vishnusahasranama results in spiritual well-being and greater awareness of God.

  • Vishnu Astottaram: contains 108 names of Vishnu
  • Kesava namalu: 27 names
  • Sacred texts – Shruti and Smriti

Shruti is unauthored texts considered to be solely of divine origin. It includes the 4 Vedas (Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda and Atharvaveda), the Brahmanas, the Aranyakas and the Upanishads.

Smruti refers to authored texts is not ‘divine’ in origin, but was ‘remembered’ by later Rishis  by transcendental means and passed down through their followers. It includes the Brahma Vaivarta Purana, Devi Purana, Bhagavata Purana and the Vishnu Purana which are Sattva Puranas. These both declare Vishnu as Para Brahman Supreme Lord who creates unlimited universes and enters each one of them as Lord of Universe.

  • Vishnu is the Supreme God who takes manifest forms or avatars across various ages or periods to save humanity from evil beings, demons or Asuras.
  • Vishnu is content with mere prayer, unlike almost all of the other gods who receive sacrificial offerings such as Havis / Havissu, which is given using clarified butter, or Soma.
  • Vishnu is the only Bhagavan as declared in the Bhagavata Purana
  • Natya Shastra lists Vishnu as the presiding deity of the Sṛngara rasa.
  • He holds a padma (lotus flower) in his lower left hand, the Kaumodaki gada (mace) in his lower right hand, the Panchajanya shankha (conch) in his upper left hand and the Sudarshana Chakra in his upper right hand.

Vishnu Smruti

The Vishnu Smruti, is one of the later books of the Dharmashastra tradition of Hinduism and focuses on the bhakti tradition and the required daily puja to Vishnu, rather than the means of knowing dharma.

Sangam literature: Lord Vishnu is the supreme deity who is the inner controller (Antaryamin) of the entire universe. This is one of the Lord’s glories, which is first mentioned in Vedas and later propounded by Alwars in Prabhandams and Sri Vaishnavaite Acharyas in various commentaries

Six most-important “divine glories” of Vishnu are:

  • Jnana (Omniscience); defined as the power to know about all beings simultaneously
  • Aishvarya (Sovereignty) which means unchallenged rule over all
  • Shakti (Power or Energy), the capacity to maintain or challenge dharma
  • Bala (Strength), the capacity to support everything by will and without any fatigue
  • Virya (Vigour), the power to retain immateriality as the Supreme Spirit.
  • Tejas (Splendor), which expresses self-sufficiency and the capacity to overpower everything by spiritual effulgence.
  • Other important qualities attributed to Vishnu are Gambhirya (inestimatable grandeur), Audarya (generosity), and Karunya (compassion).
  • The Rigveda states that Lord Vishnu can traverse the entire Universe in three strides. The first stride covers the Mortal Realm. The second stride covers the intermediate visible sky consisting of all the “lesser” realms. And the third stride covers what cannot be seen by mortals and consists of all the countless realms where the “Higher Beings” and the righteous dead reside.
  • Vishnu rides on Garuda’s (Eagle) shoulders and is a sacred bird in Vaishnavism.
  • In the Garuda Purana, Garuda carries Lord Vishnu to save the Elephant Gajendra.

Dashavataram (Ten avatars of Vishnu)


Dashavatara refers to the ten incarnation of Lord Vishnu to eradicate the evil forces, to restore the Dharma and eradicate Adharma.

Satya Yug – (1) Matsya, (2) Kurma, (3) Varaha, (4) Narasimha

Treta yug – (5) Vamana, (6) Parashurama, (7) Rama

Dwapara yuga – (8) Balarama (9) Krishna

Kali yug – (10) Kalki, the last incarnation.

Some people replace Balarama avtar with Buddha which is disputed as Budhism religion is unique religion and practices followed are different than the other nine avtars of Hindusim.

Source: Dharma-Sindhu, and Nirnaya-Sindhu, Kuchipudi dance songs,

Other Visnhu Avatars: Hayagriva

Hey Vishnu – bless us with happiness and prosperity

Live happily